Sponsors‎ > ‎You Make the Call‎ > ‎

3/1/2011

posted Mar 1, 2011, 1:12 PM by Alan Baker   [ updated Mar 3, 2011, 9:53 AM ]
Q: With a runner trying to steal second, the catcher gets off a throw which strikes the umpire stationed between the mound and second. While the pitcher is recovering the ball, the runner dashes into third safely. Is he entitled to that base?
 
A: Yes. When a thrown or pitched ball strikes an umpire, the ball remains in play. (5.08)
 
Courtesy:
www.bostonbaseball.com
Comments